Andy Lally, vegan racing driver

Andy Lally is a world class racing driver who has achieved some notable milestones.

He won the Rolex 24 hour at Daytona in 2001, 2009, 2011, 2012 (read more here) and 2016 (read more here), and holds the record for the most podium finishes of any driver in this race since the Grand Am era started in 2000. 

  • Five time winner of 24 Hours at Daytona
  • Three time Grand Am Rolex Series Champion
  • World Streetluge Champion

He has three wins and three second places in this race.

He is the 2006, 2004 and 2001 Grand Am Rolex Series Champion and holds the series records for the most top 3 and top 5 finishes, and for the all time FT class win list’s  24 victories.

He is the first three-time champion and holds the record for the most top 3 and top 5 finishes in Grand American Rolex Series history.

Vegan ethics

Andy has been vegan since 2009.

“I do it for ethical reasons, by this point in human evolution, we should be smart enough and kind enough to live without torturing other living beings just so we can enjoy a juicy lunch. There are plenty of plant-based options available that taste great and are excellent meat and dairy alternatives.

“If most people were able to see the mistreatment of these animals at factory farms and what goes on behind the scenes before it shows up to them in a nice shiny package they would be sick. It’s very easy to find on the internet, stop pretending you can’t find it and look it up.”

A versatile sportsman

As if Andy’s track achievements were not enough, he also competes in cross country mountain biking, and streetluge.   In 2009 he was part of a four man team that won the 24 Hours of Big Bear in the Men’s Sport division. 

In 2009 he was #1 qualifier for both luge classes at the IGSA World Championships in Bathurst, Australia and went on to his win the World Championship in Classic luge and finish 2nd in Unlimited Luge. Lally also trains in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and is currently a Purple Belt.

Andy’s own site

Racing on vegan fuel

Video of Andy winning at the 24 hours of Daytona